RSS

Thank You, Whitney Houston

19 Feb

All my friends who know me, who spend any time with me, know my appreciation of Whitney Houston’s music. Many of you can’t separate her music from your memories of me. I like that. I know I’ll never be able to think of my teen years and college years without her soundtrack playing in my mind.

Her music and movies will live on, her impact far reaching. Technology will always have her one click, one google search, one YouTube video away. Her legacy, her best moments will always be there. Unfortunately, she will not. She was called else where.

Beyond the awards, the triumphs, the demons, the headlines, she was a person: a mother, a daughter, a sister, a friend. To those who knew her personally, those that held her hand, I can pray comfort. She was more than most of us will ever know. She protected, she confronted, she searched, and she prayed. She was a woman, she was a person.

I will never know the personal impact she had on young girls and their self esteem. I can read stories of how she made beauty more than blonde and blue, but not deeply feel it. I am humbled by the lives she influenced, asking for nothing in return.

No, to some of her deepest impacts I cannot relate.

But to one I can…

To me, Whitney, you were an inspiration. Your tenacity, your melodic determination were constant examples. Your ability to master a lyric, to deliver an emotion were unparalleled. You moved me, Whitney Houston. To this, I can relate.

Thank you, Whitney.

God Bless.

Rest In Peace, Ms. Houston.

February 2012

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 19, 2012 in Life, Music, Whitney Houston

 

Tags:

One response to “Thank You, Whitney Houston

  1. Heather

    February 19, 2012 at 5:17 am

    She was not just a woman. She was every woman.

     

Leave a Reply

 
